Structure of Governance

Federated Governing Body of Laurel Lane Primary and St Martin's CE Primary Schools: 

In accordance with the Federated Scheme of Delegation the Federated Governing Body (FGB) consists of: 
– five governors (not staff) appointed by the Board of Directors 
– one staff governor for each school 
– one parent governor for each school 
– Vicar of St Martin's Church (ex-Officio). 

The number of people who shall sit on the Local Governing Body shall be not less than six and not more than 11. 


Due to recent changes to the constitution of local governing bodies, headteachers no longer serve as governors but attend all meetings. 

Chair of Governors: Sandra Prail 

Stuart Askew, Governor, appointed 12/07/2023 

Revd Rosy Barrie, Governor (ex-officio – Parish Priest, St Martin's Church),  

Courtney Baxter, elected staff Governor (St Martin’s), 26/05/2021 

Edward Decross-Gonzaleas, elected staff Governor (Laurel Lane), 01/09/2022 

Emily Leake, Parent Governor (Laural Lane), elected 16/06/2022 

Kevin Ogilvie, Governor, appointed 23/01/2020 

Sandra Prail, Chair of Governors, appointed 14/12/2022 

Marvin Salteras, Governor, appointed 12/07/2023 

Tamanna Sharma, elected parent Governor (St Martin’s), 30/06/2021 

Cllr Jan Sweeting, Governor, re-appointed 09/02/2022 


In attendance: Johann Coates, Headteacher (St Martin’s) 

                        Sandra Voisey, Headteacher (Laurel Lane) 


Resigned in last 12 months: 

Jackie Lack, Governor, re-appointed 15/09/2019 (resigned 01/03/2023) 

Tye McMahon, Governor, appointed 01/09/2021 (resigned 01/03/2023)